BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician

I’m having a thought on the 2009 Young Trad Awards. I wondering about upping the entry age to at least 18 (16 at the moment). There have been a few comments on the difference in the experience levels and stage presentation between the performers at the Awards. We had a few performers who had obviously been on stage a lot more than others and were able to present theirselves in a much more able fashion. We intially had the lower entry age at 16 as we wanted to encourage young musicians to consider traditional music as a career. I wonder if we can assume nowadays that the vibe has changed slightly and we can mover our lower age forward. Let see.

Rob Gibson has has lodged a motion in Parliament today to discuss why the Scots Trad Music Awards are not on TV. A very good question. Here is the info below.

S3M-956# Rob Gibson (Highlands and Islands) (SNP) : Congratulations to the Fifth Annual Scots Trad Music Awards— That the Parliament congratulates Hands Up For Trad for organising the fifth annual Scots Trad Music Awards, Comharrachadh Duaisean Dual-cheòl na h-Alba 2007, held in the Nevis Centre, Fort William from 29 November to 1 December 2007; notes the attendance of 900 celebrants and 130 musicians who produced such a spectacular and enjoyable programme drawn from all aspects of our traditional music; congratulates the award winners whose performances have raised the excellence, rude health and growing recognition of Scotland’s contemporary indigenous music bringing it to wider public notice each year, which acts as a barometer of a confident and innovative musical culture in today’s Scotland but regrets that broadcasters have yet to televise this enjoyable event to take the live performance and celebration of our rich musical traditions onto our television screens, and considers that future awards ceremonies should be televised, starting with the sixth awards due to be held in Glasgow in 2008.

Supported by: Bashir Ahmad, Dr Alasdair Allan, Kenneth Gibson, Jamie Hepburn, Bill Kidd, Michael Matheson, Nanette Milne, Sandra White, Karen Whitefield, Bob Doris, Joe FitzPatrick, Robin Harper, Liam McArthur, Stuart McMillan, Alex Neil, Gil Paterson, Cathy Peattie, Shirley-Anne Somerville, Roseanna Cunningham, Christina McKelvie, Dave Thompson, Dr Bill Wilson, Mr Frank McAveety, Jamie McGrigor, Malcolm Chisholm
Lodged on 03 December 2007; current.

Finally congratulations to Lau and Julie Fowlis who won ‘Best Group’ and ‘Folk singer of the Year’ respectably at the Radio 2 Folk Awards. Both are working very hard, producing great music and are reaping the benefits