Holiday day

Not much to report. Had a nice day in the garden. Managed to uproot 5 tree roots from next to the fence. We went down to the local farm and checked out the day old lambs – the noise the made was amazing.

Re work – I had a discussion on next Saturday's Distil England Showcase in Loughborough Town Hall (see www.distil.org.uk for more details). I also talked to Maeve MacKinnon on her imminent release on Foot Stompin' Records (www.footstompin.com). I finished off the night writing some bagpipe concerto. I've found this project to be quite a challenge mainly due to the lack of notes on the chanter (even though the Garvie Scottish smallpipes are chromatic giving me a max 14 notes). I've tried to write outwith the normal bagpipe style for the first and third movements while the middle section is based on a pibroch idea. I would be interested to know if anyone out there has written an extented piece for bagpipe and ensemble. Have a good weekend.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment